The Council

The Council consists of the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of each Member State and a member of the European Commission. Chairmanship of the Council rotates on an annual basis.

The role of the Council itself is “to serve as a forum for guidance and overall co-ordination among the participating states” (stated in the Terms of Reference). The annual session is held in the country currently in the chair.

The Foreign Minister of the presiding country is responsible for co-ordinating the Council’s ongoing activities between the Ministerial Sessions and is assisted in this work by a Committee of Senior Officials.

Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons